Yup, it sucks.

I get that I need to stay positive.  I do get that.  I get that our mind and our attitudes are so powerful, and that we can go so much further than our perceived limitations when we use these tools to our advantage.  I know this.  That being said, I can tell you that today I made a wish.  I wished with all of the passion that I could muster within myself that I wouldn’t have to be creative about how to accomplish the things that I needed to accomplish today.  I wished that I could just get up and do them.  Every day I bait myself with various promises to keep motivated throughout the day, and honestly sometimes I get tired of being determined and putting “mind over matter”, and I just want it to be easy.  We all have obstacles, and I know that many people have more challenges to deal with than I do, but every once in a while, I just wish that I could wake up and have a day off from being sick.  OK or maybe a week off.  I think that just a brief taste of feeling energetic and casting off this fog in my head and putting a stop to this stupid, nagging, aching would be so refreshing.  I wonder what I would do.  I wonder what that would be like.  I’m pretty sure I would feel like superwoman, ready to take on the world!

I definitely lectured myself on why I needed to stop feeling sorry for myself and stop being so negative and really fought with myself to drop this “life is so unfair to me” mentality.   But you know what?  Life is truly hard sometimes, and we do need to make sure that we don’t dwell in the valleys, but is it possible that there is something to acknowledging that they exist?  I think it might even be healthy to give yourself permission to just call it like it is, and say those charmingly impolite and crude, yet perfectly accurate words, THIS SUCKS.  Yup, it does, it totally sucks, and now I move on to focusing my energies on gratitude and finding a place to renew my strength and get back to living my life.

I hope that life is absolutely wonderful to you today my friends, but in the case that it is not, I am very happy to stand with you and point at whatever evil thing is getting you down and very maturely call it names and make sure that it knows that we both agree that it sucks.  With one last stomp of our foot as we move on, maybe we will at least get the slightest bit of satisfaction from our outburst. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Yup, it sucks.

  1. Great post and great insight! I think it’s perfectly healthy and even freeing to acknowledge that sometimes things just suck and putting a smiley face on it isn’t real or even productive. I’m definitely having one of those days today. Having real coffee with real milk was my little stomp of the foot! Now I’m ready to move on and do what I need to do to feel better.

    • Trisha, I love your “defiant” act of having your real coffee with real milk. Sometimes we do just need that “stomp of the foot”, and a just a little outlet to express the nasty words that come to mind when it comes to dealing with all of this mess! It is not pretty sometimes! I try not to dwell in that place but of course, denial is not an option either! I hope that today you are feeling strong and well. Love to you, Aimee.

  2. Well said! Completely agreed! It is important to say ‘it sucks’ sometimes. In fact, I have grown a lot more by acknowledging those moments than by forcing positive thinking behind tearful eyes.

    • Sandy, sometimes I just want to throw an all out tantrum, but I constantly seem to swing back and forth between trying to stay positive and yet needing to be real! Thank you for your words. I hope today finds you well friend, Aimee.

  3. You truly have so much to offer, Aimee. You are indeed, inspiring. Never forget that. I’m truly thankful we found each other. Your comments mean more than you know. I’m glad I can be your voice at times and thank you for being my voice and many, many others. Don’t be too hard on yourself, sweets. It does suck. Cope with it however you may, just don’t give up. Sending strength and love your way, always.

    • Kate, you have no idea how much your words mean to me. Sincerely. A HUGE (but gentle) hug is attached to this message. Peace, much love, and healing thoughts to you this day. Your friend on the journey, Aimee.

    • I am honored that you are reading, and love that we can encourage each other along. We all have ups and downs, and I hope that in finding common ground in what we share that there is peace in knowing we are journeying together. I hope today is “sunny” for you. xoxo, Aimee

Leave a Reply

